Germany Scholarships

SA-GER CDR Scholarships for Masters PhD and Internships for International Students in South Africa and Germany

SA-GER CDR Scholarships funded scholarships and internship opportunities to study in South Africa and Germany. For applicants from Sub-Saharan African countries with an excellent academic record, the DRD offers a limited number of DAAD merit scholarships per year.

Masters and PhD students are invited to apply for a chance to be awarded full scholarships. Apart from full scholarships for participation in one of the above-mentioned programmes, several mobility scholarships for Master’s students are available each year.

SA-GER CDR Scholarships are funded for master’s and PhD studies in SA and are also aimed at funding a study period in Germany. Scholarships are available for full-time students of the following courses

  • Masters in Development Studies
  • Master in Public Administration
  • MA in Development Management
  • PhD options at the centre (PhD UWC)

The University of South Africa (UNISA), known colloquially as Unisa, is the largest university system in South Africa by enrolment. It attracts a third of all higher education students in South Africa. Through various colleges and affiliates, UNISA has over 400,000 students, including international students from 130 countries worldwide, making it one of the world’s mega universities and the only such university in Africa. As a comprehensive university, Unisa offers both vocational and academic programmes, many of which have received international accreditation, as well as an extensive geographical footprint, giving students recognition and employability in many countries the world over. The university lists many notable South Africans among its alumni, including two Nobel Prize winners: Nelson Mandela, the first democratically elected president of South Africa and Archbishop Desmond Tutu

Founded in 1873 as the University of the Cape of Good Hope, the University of South Africa (or Unisa as it is commonly known) spent most of its early history as an examining agency for Oxford and Cambridge universities and as an incubator from which most other universities in South Africa are descended. Legislation in 1916 established the autonomous University of South Africa (the same legislation established Stellenbosch University and the University of Cape Town as autonomous universities) as an “umbrella” or federal institution with its seat in Pretoria, playing an academic trusteeship role for several colleges that eventually became autonomous universities. The colleges that were under UNISA’s trusteeship were Grey University College (Bloemfontein), Huguenot University College (Wellington), Natal University College (Pietermaritzburg), Rhodes University College, Transvaal University College (Pretoria), the South African School of Mines and Technology (Johannesburg), and Potchefstroom University College. In 1959, with the passage of the Extension of University Education Act, UNISA’s trusteeship also extended to the five “black universities”, namely the University of Zululand, University of the Western Cape, University of the North, University of Durban-Westville, and University of Fort Hare. In 1946, UNISA was given a new role as a distance education university, and today it offers certificate, diploma and degree courses up to the doctoral level.

Worth of SA-GER CDR Scholarships

  • Tuition and registration fees are covered by the Scholarship Programme.
  • Monthly allowances of 650 Euro plus travel allowances for Master candidates and 900 Euro plus travel allowances for PhD candidates.
  • Internship Placement in reputable German organisations

Eligibility for SA-GER CDR Scholarships

  • Scholarship applicants are advised to carefully read about the specific entry requirements and course application procedure of the programme of their choice. The information is available from the sections of the respective programme. In addition to programme requirements, all applicants have to meet the following requirements:
  • Applicants should be from Sub-Sahara Africa
  • Applicants should have an outstanding academic record – at least 70% for your last degree
  • Applicants should apply within 6 years of having completed their previous degree
  • The study must have been completed at an internationally recognised university
  • The previous degree (Baccalaureus or Master) should have been an academic discipline which is related to Development Studies or Public Administration
  • South African students are required to have an honours degree to be admitted to a Master’s degree course. Other students need the equivalent of 4-year undergraduate degree
  • Applicants must provide evidence of proficiency in English, both written and spoken. This can be e TOEFL test or a similar standard test or a letter from an academic institution
  • Work and/or voluntary experience in your field of interest would be a recommendation
  • Women are encouraged to apply
  • South African students are encouraged to apply
  • Applicants must be able to study full-time at the UWC for the required period.

How to apply for SA-GER CDR Scholarships

  • Applicants are to fill out the electronic application form, the e-form can only be submitted once, please make sure that your application is complete before submission.
  • For the MADM please refer to the official website
  • Applicant required documents are all mentioned in theHow to apply sections of each programme
  • For additional information on the courses or registration please contact       [email protected]

Application Deadline: To be Updated

Official Website: Click Here

Leave a Comment