Australia Scholarships

Forrest Research Foundation International Scholarships 2022

Forrest Research Foundation Scholarships are awarded to outstanding domestic and international students to complete a degree at a Western Australian university.

The Forrest Scholarship package is valued at more than $50,000, including a stipend, accommodation allowance and a relocation and research travel allowance. The package also includes single overseas student health cover and tuition fees for international students.

The University of Western Australia(UWA) is a public research university in the Australian state of Western Australia. The university’s main campus is in Perth, the state capital, with a secondary campus in Albany and various other facilities elsewhere. UWA was established in 1911 by an act of the Parliament of Western Australia and began teaching students two years later. It is the sixth-oldest university in Australia and was Western Australia’s only university until the establishment of Murdoch University in 1973. Because of its age and reputation, UWA is classed one of the “sandstone universities”, an informal designation given to the oldest university in each state. The university also belongs to several more formal groupings, including the Group of Eight and the Matariki Network of Universities. In recent years, UWA has generally been ranked either in the bottom half or just outside the world’s top 100 universities, depending on the system used. Alumni of UWA include one Prime Minister of Australia (Bob Hawke), five Justices of the High Court of Australia(including one Chief Justice, Robert French, now Chancellor), one Governor of the Reserve Bank (H. C. Coombs), various federal cabinet ministers, and seven of Western Australia’s eight most recent premiers. In 2018 alumnus mathematician Akshay Venkatesh was a recipient of the Fields Medal. As of 2021, the university had produced 106 Rhodes Scholars. Two members of the UWA faculty, Barry Marshalland Robin Warren won Nobel Prizes as a result of research at the university.

Eligibility criteria for the Forrest Research Foundation International Scholarships

  • Applicants must be enrolled as a PhD students at Western Australia University.
  • Applicants must demonstrate that they have sufficient background and experience in independent supervised research to successfully complete a PhD.
  • Applicants must submit scores of the following English language proficiency tests:
    • TOEFL IBT – 82
    • TOEFL PBT – 570
    • PTE – 64
    • IELTS – 6.5
    • Cambridge Certificate of Proficiency in English – C
    • Cambridge Certificate in Advanced English – B grade

Eligible Countries: International

Type: PhD

Value of Award: $50,000 and other benefits

Number of Awards: Not Mentioned

Method of Application; Applicants must first apply for admission via the university portal

Application Deadline: There is no specific application deadline to apply for Higher Degree by Research courses. The application process is, therefore, ongoing.

Visit The Official Website For More Information

Leave a Comment